Today is a really really good day. I have finally been able to register for my health card. The process has been legit insane with crazy amounts of jumping through hoops and, shudder with me everyone, many trips to the Padron. It has been 8 months since I left the USA and landed in Spain. A surprisingly long and simultaneously short time. Stretching out the time between medications so that I can get by just enough, family bringing meds when they come to visit, and the hardships of flare ups definitely made it feel long. However, being that we only recently settled into a long term rental, it feels like we have been on the go and unable to let it all sink in, making it go by in a flash. But now with some of the biggest accomplishments under my belt, I got to thinking, we have been acclimating to our new lives. We have new normals that we take in stride, and as I sit on my rooftop terrace today feeling like I might finally be able to answer your repeated question "what is it like to live in Spain?!?".
Well, it is the little things that make it different. For example coffee in Spain is incredibly bitter, and they like it that way. A special roasting method called terrefacto is responsible and believe me, it takes some getting used to. It also takes learning the hard way how to hunt down the right beans in order to make coffee you like at home. This is one of the many reasons why you will see me order a glass of wine at the cafe instead of a coffee.
Speaking of wine, yes the wine is cheap and good! It is something I already knew from countless previous trips over to Europe, but something I really appreciate now being on a tight budget living here. But it isn't just the bottles in the store that are only a couple euro, it is also the by-the-glass setup they have in Spain that means house wine is always very good, local and cheap. This means you CAN afford to go to the cafe for a glass of wine and soak in the Mediterranean sun on a regular basis.
Another thing we should be adopting in the USA other than great house wines on every menu, is siesta. I really didn't think this one was going to be my cup of tea, but holy hell how have I lived most of my adult life without it? In the USA if you are taking a nap you must be ill or pregnant. In Spain, you MUST take a rest midday. Sleep? Maybe. Rest? Definitely. And why not?!? Everything in Spain closes from 2pm-5pm so what else are you going to do? If it is summer, then it is the peak of the heat and you need to get out of the sun. If it is winter then you need to curl up under a cozy blanket to warm up. And according to Spain, it is important for mental health and quality of life. Hell yes people!
Cold?!? Spain is cold you are asking? That is one that people are super surprised at, yes it gets cold in Spain! I selected a seaside town because of the moderate temps, not too hot in summer and not too cold in winter. What that translates to in Spain is your flip-flops won't melt if you leave them outside in August (like they did for a friend living is southern Spain) and it is not insane trying to heat your home in the winter (like my friend living in Madrid). What that looks like is winter coats in January... possibly over your bikini. I kid you not, we had a week of glorious beach days stuck in the middle of a cold snap that dusted nearby Barcelona with snow.
What's the food like? Spain has a relationship with tomatoes that I didn't know was possible. First let me say I have been shocked at the intense flavor of fruit in Spain since we landed. Being a supertaster I talk about smells and flavors more than the average person, maybe obnoxiously so, but I really am intrigued and in Spain, it takes me several minutes to stop talking about the flavor rush of eating an apple. So now let's take the wildly wonderful flavor intensity of fruit in Spain and look through that lens at tomatoes. Every store has a large tomato section. The little corner market next to us has 15 different varieties always in stock, they are probably out of bread, but they'd be stoned to death if they didn't have all of the varieties of tomato at your disposal. There are the kind you slice and put on a sandwich or the like, the kind that you cook with to make a sauce, the kind you use in a salad, the kind you use to make gazpacho, and the kind that you use to scrape across bread for pan con tomate (the staple dish of Spain all regions seem to agree on). And that is just the ones I have learned about. I seriously wonder if I will ever truly learn the complexities of how, when, and why you use all the other of types of tomatoes.
Food is definitely a trip here. I had the idea that it was tapas only... everywhere. And when you aren't eating tapas, you must be eating paella. But tapas are actually not king here and paella is actually kinda hard to get. Tapas are more of a thing in the north, they do it elsewhere because you, the tourist, is in love with it. They range quite a bit, but are generally seafood oriented if you are anywhere near the water... and you are almost always near water in Spain. Tapas bar hoping is a thing, but takes a second to master. Generally you do this standing up, being assertive and yelling at a bartender you serves the tapas (laid out under glass on the bar) and your drink. Ask questions or pause and you can forget it, you should probably leave and go to the next place. In our quaint little town there is a Tapas a Tapas 10 day festival that is a bit different. This festival is meant to let you try the different restaurants' signature dish with a glass of wine for only a few euro. This is to entice you to come back for a full meal sometime. You get to sit down and the whole thing is a bit more relaxed. Tapas are very region oriented, what you will be eating and how it is done so my best advice is to stand aside and watch the locals for a few moments before you dive in. As for paella... geez, I had no idea it was such a 'thing'. Turns out it was originally invented as the Sunday meal men made for their wives and is a bit of what-is-there-left-in-the-fridge-from-the-week kind of dish. It is also very regional as to what is in it, seafood if on the coast, meat if inland. But here is the real deal, it is made to order so they insist that at least two people at your table order it, it takes forever to cook (so settle in), and you totally look like a tourist if you have it for dinner. A warning to anyone brave enough to engage a local about paella in Spain; Valencia is home of the dish and they don't think anyone else makes it correctly or should even be allowed to try.
Speaking of trying and weather or not you should, is the language of the region. If you are like me, then you thought in Spain they speak spanish done and done. One, if you learned South American Spanish you don't really know how to speak Spain Spanish. Two, there are 17 different autonomous regions in Spain with cultural identities, traditions, and you got it, languages. I am in Catalonia taking Spanish classes, but realized early on that I need to learn Catalan, a very difficult language. It is hard to not feel overwhelmed and depressed with this information especially when you find yourself in a shop and the owner only speaks Catalan so you both try to communicate in Spanish that neither of you know very well.
A fun surprise has been attaching to a futbol team already. Just the other day we got preferred seating at the Sports Bar because the waitress recognized us from previous game days. That was super cool being escored out of the tourist zone to the locals area. We really get into the game too with the other Sitgetans, singing the chant (oh yes, you guessed it, in catalan) with each goal, and of course wearing a Barca jersey even though I don't like Barcelona the city. Clarification on this one: Barcelona is a province in the Catalonian region and the capital is Barcelona city. This means my little town is located in the Barcelona province in the Catalonian region of Spain and it happens to be near Barcelona city. Therefore our region's futbol team is Barca.
Another thing I am loving is what they call 'sobremesa' and it is the time after the meal dedicated to sipping another glass of wine and talking to the people at the table. It is actually considered very rude to order the check having just finishing eating. They think you are unhappy with the meal. Seriously, they will ask what is wrong and not just in the passing way a waitress in the states might say "everything alright?", but with true concern, why are you leaving so quickly? Did we do something wrong? Even if you licked that plate clean, they are worried that they did something that would make you want the check immediately. You need, to at the very least let them clear the dishes, sit back and digest for a while. No they are not in a rush to reseat your table, this is YOUR table and it is mandatory to take time to enjoy the experience you just had. And they expect you to. Don't want dessert, a coffee, or another glass of wine? Then why are you even alive? Just go jump off a cliff! I have quickly grown to love this concept deeply.
So what IS it like living in Spain... is it exotic and exciting? No, not really. I do all the same things I used to do. Today is like every other day living in Spain or the USA. I do the normal things like make coffee, do some laundry, go get groceries, and get a few hours of work in. The difference is that I drink my coffee looking out over cobblestone streets and ancient red titled roofs. I hang the laundry to dry on the rooftop terrace, walk a block or two to the market to buy three different types of tomatoes for tonight's dinner, and work while church bells ring and the town wakes up in the evening light after siesta. It is pretty surreal and special while being 100% just your average day.
Green with envy? Don't worry, just in case you thought my horror stories of moving would be stopping, you sick little puppies enjoying my pain, I found out today that currently our residence cards and Padron registration have the same address on them... allowing me to be able to get the all important health care registration...BUT it is not our new long term rental address. What does that mean? Oh yes, you got it, I will need to jump through all the same hoops again to update the ID card and city registration... with La Reina at the Padron.



